Taxes Nexus & The Dull Stuff

landed

This is not the best place for this question but I think it will end up being a valuable thread. So of course move me mods.

This is a general thread to help us understand how taxes work for our own scenarios.

How to setup for tax correctly?

I can only tell you about my understanding given it is Q4 2020 right now. I am a UK resident running a coupe of stores with modest profit. If I scaled which I may be able to soon I know I would quickly get to the 85k turnover to force me to charge VAT to my customers.

If you turnover more then 85k per tax year then you need to become a LTD (Like an LLC in the USA.). Before that you can operate as a sole trader.
I am liable for personal taxation only in this way it is a much simpler calculation. I think I understand the situation as I sell to UK people no problem.

If an item in my shop is 10 pounds I add 20% VAT and charge to the customer. I send the 20% (£2) to the GOV. The customer now sees an increase of 20% which is something I must plan for. Given the lower and lower margins some kinds of drop shipping become non viable.

85k is around 7k per month so you can quickly reach this figure if you spend a lot on ads.

But if like me you sell globally how do you then charge the tax? Let us assume we only sell to the UK and USA to simplify. The USA seem to say that over again a threshold we would have economic nexus depending where the customer buys from so now the US GOV also wants some tax...this is the part I do not understand.

It could be the location of the customer determines the tax chargeable. So 2 problems (if this is correct)
a) how to setup the shop to calculate the tax based on customer address.
b) how to register in all the different countries to pay tax and make sure to pay that tax to each state/country.

It's very quickly outside the realms of a soloprenuer.

I am happy to hire an accountant but would like to conceptually understand if I got things right.

the_lyall